Fianna Fáil Make Big Election Gains in Kildare

Fianna Fáil won 12 seats to Kildare County Council which is the largest seats total ever for the party in the county. This also places it with 30% of the seats making it the largest party in the council chamber. The party’s candidates are delighted with the result and have thanked voters and campaign supporters for the result at the polls on May 23rd.

Of the 14 candidates the party did run in Kildare, 2 unfortunately were not successful: Gráinne Whelan in the Celbridge-Leixlip district and Ben Doyle in the Maynooth district, however, this wasn’t for a lack of effort as both candidates put a lot of work in to their campaigns.

In 4 of the 5 districts in the county, Fianna Fáil topped the poll. These were Athy, Kildare-Newbridge, Naas and Celbridge-Leixlip. With such a strong mandate, the party’s candidates look forward to working together on the council and the challenges facing Kildare over the next 5 years.

The candidates elected in each of the areas are as follows:

Athy Municipal District: (results)

Martin Miley Jnr.
Mark Dalton

Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District: (results)

Frank O’Rourke

Kildare-Newbridge Municipal District: (results)

Fiona O’Loughlin
Suzanne Doyle
Sean Power

Maynooth Municipal District: (results)

Naoise Ó Cearúil
Paul Ward
Daragh Fitzpatrick

Naas Municipal District: (results)

James Lawless
Robert Power
Willie Callaghan